Seventeen athletes from British Columbia will represent Canada at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

A total of 57 Canadians, 33 women and 24 men, are sent to Japan to compete against the best competitors in the world from July 30 to August 8.

“I’m really excited to go to Tokyo. It’s crazy for me to think that I went to the Olympics in 2012, 2016 and now I’m preparing for my third Olympics, ”said Damian Warner, the top ranked athlete in the men’s decathlon. “I couldn’t be more honored to represent Team Canada and go to Tokyo with this talented group.

Athletes were awarded their nominations by meeting the entry standard during the qualification period, or by world ranking position as of July 1, 2021.

COVID-19 has challenged athletes like no other Olympic year. They had restricted access to training facilities, interprovincial travel bans were put in place and had to undergo mandatory 14-day quarantine periods when leaving the country.

Canada’s head coach Glenroy Gilbert said the athletes’ commitment to their Olympic dreams is commendable.

“In the face of adversity, these athletes were able to seize the opportunity, perform on demand and make the most of every opportunity available to them,” said Gilbert.

“Athletics Canada has a strong team, with significant depth in a number of events. In Tokyo, I have no doubts that they will be at their best and will be the pride of Canada.

The team has 31 returning Olympic veterans, including three-time Olympian Michael Mason, six double Olympians Mohammed Ahmed, Melissa Bishop-Nriagu, Aaron Brown, Elizabeth Gleadle, Gavin Smellie and Damian Warner. They are joined by 26 rookie Olympians.

The oldest member of the team is Malindi Elmore, 41, while Camryn Rogers, 22, is the youngest.

Canada came home with six medals at the Rio 2016 Olympics, the most since winning nine at the 1932 Games in Los Angeles. Five Canadian records were broken and eight athletes improved on Canada’s best results in their respective events.

The team will meet in Gifu, Japan on July 18, then train at the Nagaragawa Athletic Stadium before heading to Tokyo five days before the first event.

The nominated athletes are:

  • Mohammed Ahmed (St. Catharines, Ont.) – Men 5,000 meters and 10,000 meters (previously nominated in 10,000 meters)
  • Bolade Ajomale (Richmond Hill, Ont.) – Men’s 4×100-meter relay
  • Marco Arop (Edmonton, Alta.) – Men’s 800 meters
  • Mathieu Bilodeau (Quebec, Que.) – 50 kilometer walk men (previously nominated)
  • Khamica Bingham (Brampton, Ont.) – Women’s 100-meter
  • Melissa Bishop-Nriagu (Eganville, Ont.) – Women’s 800-meter
  • Jerome Blake (Kelowna, BC) – Men’s 4×100-meter relay
  • Bismark Boateng (Brampton, Ont.) – Men’s 100-meter and 4 × 100-meter relay
  • Aaron Brown (Toronto, Ont.) – Men’s 200-meter and 4 × 100-meter relay
  • Alicia Brown (Ottawa, Ont.) – Women’s 4×400-meter relay
  • Lucas Bruchet (Vancouver, BC) – Men’s 5,000m
  • Alycia Butterworth (Parksville, BC) – Women’s 3,000-meter Steeplechase
  • Lindsey Butterworth (North Vancouver, BC) – Women’s 800m
  • Kyra Constantine (Brampton, Ont.) – Women’s 400-Meter and 4 × 400-Meter Relay
  • Brittany Crew (Toronto, Ont.) – Women’s Shot Put
  • Gabriela DeBues-Stafford (Toronto, Ont.) – Women’s 1,500 meters
  • Andre De Grasse (Markham, Ont.) – Men’s 100-meter, 200-meter and 4×100-meter relay
  • Evan Dunfee (Richmond, BC) – Men’s 50-kilometer walk (previously nominated)
  • Georgia Ellenwood (Langley, BC) – Women’s Heptathlon
  • Malindi Elmore (Kelowna, BC) – Women’s Marathon (previously nominated)
  • Crystal Emmanuel (Toronto, Ont.) – Women’s 100m, 200m
  • Lauren Gale (Ottawa, Ont.) – Women’s 4×400-meter relay
  • John Gay (Vancouver, BC) – 3,000-meter steeplechase men
  • Elizabeth Gleadle (Vancouver, BC) – Women’s Javelin Throw
  • Natalia Hawthorn (North Vancouver, BC) – Women’s 1,500 meters
  • Trevor Hofbauer (Burnaby, BC) – Men’s Marathon (previously nominated)
  • Matthew Hughes (Toronto, Ont.) – 3,000-meter steeplechase men
  • Madeleine Kelly (Pembroke, Ont.) – Women’s 800m
  • Justyn Knight (Toronto, Ont.) – Men’s 5,000-meter
  • Geneviève Lalonde (Moncton, NB) – Women’s 3,000-meter steeplechase
  • Pierce LePage (Whitby, Ont.) – Men’s Decathlon
  • Cameron Levins (Black Creek, BC) – Men’s Marathon (previously nominated)
  • Django Lovett (Toronto, Ont.) – Men’s High Jump
  • Michael Mason (Nanoose Bay, BC) – Men’s High Jump
  • Brandon McBride (Windsor, Ont.) – Men’s 800-meter
  • Natassha McDonald (Brampton, Ont.) – Women’s 400-Meter and 4 × 400-Meter Relay
  • Sarah Mitton (Brooklyn, NS) – Women’s Shot Put
  • Noelle Montcalm (Windsor, Ont.) – Women’s 400-meter hurdles and 4 × 400-meter relay
  • Timothy Nedow (Brockville, Ont.) – Men’s Shot Put
  • Christabel Nettey (Surrey, BC) – Women’s Long Jump
  • Anicka Newell (Saskatoon, SK) – Women’s Pole Vault
  • Alysha Newman (Delaware, Ont.) – Women’s Pole Vault
  • Dayna Pidhoresky (Tecumseh, Ont.) – Women’s Marathon (previously nominated)
  • Ben Preisner (Milton, Ont.) – Men’s Marathon (previously nominated)
  • Madeline Price (Toronto, Ont.) – Women’s 4×400-meter relay
  • Brendon Rodney (Etobicoke, Ont.) – Men’s 200-meter and 4 × 100-meter relay
  • Camryn Rogers (Richmond, BC) – Women’s Hammer Throw
  • Andrea Seccafien (Guelph, Ont.) – Women 5,000m and 10,000m (previously nominated in the 10,000m)
  • Gavin Smellie (Brampton, Ont.) – Men’s 100-meter and 4 × 100-meter relay
  • Julie-Anne Staehli (Lucknow, Ont.) – Women’s 5,000-Meter
  • Lucia Stafford (Toronto, Ont.) – Women’s 1,500-meter
  • Kate Van Buskirk (Toronto, Ont.) – Women’s 5,000-Meter
  • Damian Warner (London, Ont.) – Men’s Decathlon
  • Sage Watson (Medicine Hat, Alta) – Women’s 400-meter hurdles and 4 × 400-meter relay
  • Jillian Weir (Kingston, Ont.) – Women’s Hammer Throw
  • Natasha Wodak (North Vancouver, BC) – Women’s Marathon (previously nominated)
  • Regan Yee (South Hazelton, BC) – Women’s 3,000-meter Steeplechase

The nominated coaches are:

  • Glenroy Gilbert (Ottawa, Ont.) – Head Coach
  • Charles Allen (Toronto, Ont.) – Coach
  • Kurt Downes (Windsor, Ont.) – Coach
  • Gerald Dragomir (Vancouver, BC) – Coach
  • Geoff Harris (Halifax, NS) – Coach
  • Jeffrey Hartwig (St. Charles, Missouri) – Coach
  • Heather Hennigar (Victoria, BC) – Coach
  • Jeff Huntoon (Toronto, Ont.) – Coach
  • Richard Parkinson (Stouffville, Ont.) – Coach
  • Larry Steinke (Lethbridge, Alberta) – Coach
  • Michael Van Tighem (Summerland, BC) – Coach

Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Olympic Games

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.