WATSONVILLE – Foresthill’s Ryan Robinson started first and dominated the Ocean Sprints main race aboard the # 4w family mount at Ocean Speedway on Friday night.

On Friday night, Norm Ayers with Hobby Stocks and SoCal gasman Tommy Velasquez III with South Bay Dwarf Cars shared the winning streak. Ayers weathered relentless challenges from Adriane Frost to secure the victory, while Velasquez easily won the Dwarf Car main event by a U-turn.

In the 30-lap Ocean Sprints main event, Robinson managed to manage things for much of the competition. An excessive amount of slowdown was seen at the start of the feature, which kept the runners from picking up the pace. However, once things got started, Robinson stepped back into traffic to claim his first career ocean triumph.

Jake Andreotti of Castro Valley had one of the best outings of his Ocean Sprints career, earning a solid second-place effort at the finish. Aroma Accelerator Purifier Justin Sanders completed the podium and is looking to wrap up the Watsonville title at the Johnny Key Classic on Saturday night.

Bud Kaeding, Kurt Nelson, JJ Ringo, Mitchell Faccinto, Dominic Scelzi, Keith Day Jr. and Steven Kent completed the top 10 on Friday.

Two B-hands were held and Kaleb Montgomery and Colby Johnson took the victories.

The Dash was chosen by Day Jr., who earlier in the night set a new all-time record at Ocean Speedway with a qualifying time of 10.715. In total, four qualifying races were contested with victories for Nelson, Jake Andreotti, Zane Blanchard and Kaeding.

A strong peloton of 39 Sprint Cars was present for the “Key Classic Opener”.


61st Classic Johnny Key
When: Saturday, 6 p.m.
Events: Ocean Sprints vs. Sprint Car Challenge Tour, Hobby Stocks, Western Midget Racing
Or: Ocean Speedway, Watsonville
Tickets: OceanSpeedway.com


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.