June 28 – Round three of the new 500 Sprint Car Tour is scheduled for Thursday with a strong field of 23 teams entered.

The race takes place at Lucas Oil Indianapolis Raceway Park with a National Midgets and Silver Crown challenge race.

Kody Swanson won the inaugural event at Plymouth Motor Speedway and Tyler Roahrig won race two at Michigan’s Berlin Raceway.

A total of 23 teams submitted entries for Thursday’s race with a distinct Lucas Oil Little 500 flavor.

In addition to Swanson and Roahrig being the Little 500 winners, the field includes other former winners Bobby Santos III and Brian Tyler.

Freewheeling ace CJ Leary, third in the Little 500, makes his first tour appearance with Jerry Coons Jr.

Other drivers vying for victory include Dakoda Armstrong, Tanner Swanson, Taylor Ferns, Billy Wease and Kyle O’Gara.

500 Rookie of the Year Larry Kingseed Jr. will make his first start with Canadian rider Jason Conn.

Armstrong and Wease have both contested victory in the first two races and could be the next rider to win a Tour event.

Ferns recorded two top-10 finishes and will also compete in the Silver Crown race.

Several Sprint Car Tour drivers will be among the competitors in the Silver Crown and Midget races.

It should be a great night of open-wheel racing on the always fast and challenging IRP oval.

General admission tickets are $25 and include unlimited food and drink.

The Tour returns to Anderson Speedway on July 9 for the 22nd running of the Glenn Niebel Classic as well as the third Kenyon Midget Series appearance.


Several drivers who have competed at Anderson Speedway over the years are making their mark in the National Touring Series.

Anderson’s Greg VanAlst is competing for ARCA Menards Series Rookie of the Year honors and is currently fifth in the points standings.

VanAlst posted a best result to date with a fifth place finish and has five top 10 finishes to his name.

Former Anderson Speedway McGunegill Engine Performance champion Zachary Tinkle is also competing for Rookie of the Year and is eighth in points and still hoping to score a top 10.

Former Thunder Roadster driver Greg Cory runs the entire Silver Crown Series with his brother Chad as team manager.

Cory is the top rookie and currently 11th in the points standings.

Pendleton’s Travis Welpott is seventh in the Silver Crown standings.

Chris Hacker, a former competitor of Anderson’s latest model, made three starts this year in NASCAR’s Camping World Truck Series.

It’s encouraging to see the local talent taking their competitive spirit to the next stage of the race.

Follow Ken de la Bastide on Twitter @KendelaBastide, or call 765-640-4863.

(c) 2022 The Herald Bulletin (Anderson, Ind.)

Visit The Herald Bulletin (Anderson, Indiana) at www.theheraldbulletin.com

Distributed by Tribune Content Agency, LLC.

Copyright 2022 Tribune Content Agency.