ANDERSON — Michigan driver Steve Needles capitalized on two Lady Luck decisions to win the Outlaw Late Model race at Anderson Speedway.

In qualifying, reigning CB Fabricating race winner Tyler Roahrig broke the existing track record for the Reveal the Hammer Outlaw Late Models on Saturday and five more drivers would eclipse the mark set in 2021.

The reverse put Needles in the front row and he took the lead, chased by Brock Ganus and Brandon Short. Tyler Roahrig who started sixth moved up to fifth at the start.

Ganus spun on the fourth lap and a lap later drove into the infield with flames erupting from the back of his car, ending his night.

On the restart, Adam Terry used the outside groove to move from fourth to second, but he was passed by Roahrig on lap 11.

The running order remained unchanged until lap 35 when Justin Holloway’s car burst into smoke bringing out the final warning.

Reveal the Hammer opted to run the race single file again, which was an advantage for Needles.

Roahrig passed Terry on lap 37 and for the next 23 homers he seemed to be searching high and low around Needles.

At the finish, Needles won by 0.635 seconds over Roahrig with Brandon Short in third.

“The car was faster than the driver tonight,” Needles said in the Riley & Son Victory Lane. “This place will wear you out. It’s a tough place to run and lots of fun; whenever you can beat 24 (Roahrig), you’ve done something.

Needles said halfway through the race he was able to find a good rhythm around the track.

“It protected the race track and left no room for Tyler (Roahrig) to get along with us,” he said. “The single file helped us a lot, I was surprised they did that.”

Just his third career start, Thomas Schrage recorded his first win with the Kenyon Midget Series.

Starting from the front row, Schrage took the lead from point leader Trey Osborne with Dameron Taylor moving into second place from the third starting point.

On the 11th homer, Taylor got stuck in the high groove and was passed by fast qualifiers Jack Macenko, Osborne and Anderson Patterson.

With Schrage opening up a comfortable lead, there were plenty of close races behind the leader with riders jostling for every position.

Osborne took second from Macenko on lap 23 when Macenko came up on turn four, nearly contacting the outside retaining wall.

Schrage then won by 0.955 seconds over Osborne with Macenko, Anderson Patterson and Kyle Ford rounding out the top five.

“It’s a dream come true,” Schrage said of his win at Anderson Speedway. “I don’t know what was going on behind me, I just kept looking straight ahead.”

Other winners were: Chuck Cook in Marcum’s Welding Front-Wheel Drives; Jimmy Kirby, Noble Wine & Spirit Thunder Cars; John Robbins, Thunder Roadsters.

​Follow Ken de la Bastide on Twitter @KendelaBastide, or call 765-640-4863.