Ryan Lilick, driving # 49 owned by Dennis and Debbie Becker, avoided all crashes in the modified feature TP trailers of the weekly NASCAR Advance Auto Parts 358 series of 30-lap warnings-filled Saturday night at Grandview Speedway for score his first career victory in the division. Before moving to the Modified division a few years ago, he had won seven Sportsman feature films.

TP Truck Equipment’s Sportsman 25 laps feature was also marred by several warnings. In the end, defending champion Brian Hirthler set the Green Lane / Wm. Penn / 4-Star Lettering climbs into victory lane for his fifth win of the season by a comfortable margin over runner-up Jimmy Leiby.

The ARDC 20-lap Midget feature was a photo finish race to the wire between winner Tommy Kunsman and runner-up Steve Buckwalter.

Bobby Gunther Walsh led the first laps of the modified feature once it started after a rear tangle that brought out red as the track was blocked before a lap could be recorded.

The yellow came back on lap four when Jeff Strunk was in the wall of the third corner and had a puncture on the right and left and Kevin Hirthler suffered a front left puncture. Strunk was done for the night, but Hirthler continued. Gunther Walsh continued his pace in the restart with Ron Kline bidding for the lead.

In the seventh lap restart caused by Cory Merkel stopping in the third corner, Kline, the late 2005 pattern point champion, took the outside lane and charged in the lead. Lilick called for the second at the same time to pressure him.

A multi-car mishap around the fourth corner on lap 12 brought out the yellow. On that reboot, Lilick charged at the front of the pack followed by Brad Grim, Doug Manmiller, Craig Von Dohren and Kline. Brett Kressley, who was involved in the opening red that sent him to the pit side, tried to break into the top five. He was able to join the back of the peloton on his return.

The final warning was with 10 laps to go after Jesse Leiby entered the wall between turns three and four. Before the race turned green again, Brad Brightbill, the winner of last week’s feature film, dropped out of the competition. The starting order behind Lilick in the restart now consisted of Manmiller, Von Dohren, B. Grim and Duane Howard.

Lilick never looked back once he became the new leader, but he watched the scoreboard to find out who was running where. The order of finish certainly changed as Kressley was on the move and finished second, followed by current leader and defending champion Von Dohren, Manmiller and Howard. To complete the top ten, B. Grim, Mike Lisowski, Kline, Justin Grim and Brad Arnold.

The rounds were won by Gunther Walsh, Kline and Joe Funk. Jared Umbenhauer won the consi.

Poleman Colten Perry took the lead on the wave of green in the Sportsman feature, followed by BJ Joly, after a victory in the Outlaw Sportsman Vintage feature on the track the night before; Adrianna Delliponti, Joey Vaccaro and Tyler James.

Lap 13 was lucky for Joly as he was able to overtake Perry to become the new point guard.

Jimmy Leiby took second on lap 15 to challenge Joly, but next time Hirthler was in second.

Perry spun between the first and second turns bringing out the yellow on the 17th circuit. On the restart, Hirthler and Leiby were one and two with Joly, current point guard Kenny Gilmore and Vaccaro now third to fifth.

In no time, Hirthler built a comfortable lead and went on to claim his 12th career victory. Leiby, Gilmore, Dylan Hoch and Joly followed him across the line. From sixth to tenth were Ryan Beltz, Vaccaro, Dakota Kohler, Tyler James and Chris Esposito.

The heats were won by Cole Stangle, Vaccaro and Delliponti. Beltz won the consi.

The final NASCAR Advance Auto Parts Weekly Series points ranking will be decided on Saturday, September 11, with the Hope Mortgage Team Championship Night for Modifieds and Sportsman being held. And there will be a fireworks display to accompany the expected fireworks on the track. Everything will start at 7:30 p.m.

Zach Curtis led one lap of the Midget function before Kunsman took the lead in the second, followed in the second by Brett Wanner.

Halfway through Kunsman was first, but now Buckwalter was second in pursuit of the leader.

Kunsman’s sizable lead was erased when Steve Craig slowed down in the second corner for the only warning on Lap 15.

The last five laps Kunsman and Buckwalter have run side by side for the lead. Buckwalter took the lead in the white flag lap, but coming in for the checkered Kunsman’s place he made a bold move to regain control as the pair crossed the line with a difference of just 0.012 seconds. Wanner was third, followed by Kevin Woody, Curtis, Mike Markey, JR Booth, Shannon Mousteller, Craig and Mark Sokol.

Buckwalter and Kunsman were the winners of the round.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.