ANDERSON – Dameron Taylor recorded his first feature film victory at Kenyon Midget in nearly two years, surviving a heated battle on Saturday at Anderson Speedway.

During the first 20 laps of the 30-lap function, there were heated battles for three positions among the top six pilots.

Jack Macenko took the lead at the start followed by Kameron Gladish and Taylor. It took only one lap for Taylor to climb to second place.

Over the next 18 laps, Macenko managed to counter every move Taylor attempted to secure the top spot.

Behind the leaders, Gladish was challenged by quick qualifier Ayrton Houk for third place and Sam Hines and Trey Osborne fought for fifth place.

The second warning flag was waved when Issac Johnson spun into Turn 2. Macenko didn’t get a good restart, allowing Taylor and Houk to claim the top two positions.

Taylor opened up a comfortable lead, but Houk charged late and finished 0.2 seconds behind the race winner. Macenko, Gladish and Colin Grissom round out the top five.

Taylor said in the Riley & Son Victory Lane that he wanted to pilot Macenko flawlessly in the battle for the lead.

“The competition is so tough,” he said. “There is a lot of talent in this series, and everyone respects each other. “


Jason Atkinson took the lead in the Byrider 75 race, passing Dalton Conner on lap 21 and taking fast qualifier Josh Poore with him.

Conner took the lead at the start, followed by Dawson Phillips and Poore d’Anderson with Atkinson in fourth.

Atkinson and Poore made their way to the front of the field, and Poore was able to keep in close contact with the leader.

There was a final restart with three laps remaining for a debris warning, and Atkinson was able to maintain the point followed by Poore and Conner, making only his second start from street stock.

Phillips, the leading Rookie of the Year contender, was passed by Andrew Teepe in the final round for fourth. Teepe took out the yellow flag on the first lap and had to start at the back of the pack.

Atkinson recorded two wins and a second at Anderson Speedway in the CRA competition this year.

“Pretty good at Anderson,” Atkinson said in Victory Lane. “Anytime you can beat Josh (Poore) at Anderson, it makes him special.”


After failing to win at Anderson Speedway until this year, Fort Wayne’s Billy Hutson earned his second victory of the year.

Earlier this year, Hutson won the PGG 100 and claimed his first CRA victory in the Byrider 75.

Tony Dager led the first three circuits before being passed by Casten Everridge with Hutson, the quick qualifier, third followed by track champion Jeff Marcum.

The only warning flag in the race was waved on lap 18 for a Kent Carson spin, and on restart Hutson took the lead with Marcum in second place five laps later.

Marcum’s night ended on lap 38 with an oil leak, a rare mechanical misfortune for the team.

Hutson went on to win Everidge, Dylan Stoval, Caleb Reschar and Kyle Worley.

“The team made all the right adjustments,” Hutson said. “The car was really well tuned.

“The racing gods do strange things. The last time we were here I had a mechanical problem, and tonight it happened to Jeff (Marcum). I’m sorry we couldn’t run to the finish.

To follow Ken de la Bastide on Twitter @KendelaBastide, or call 765-640-4863.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.