Matt Westfall wins the wingless sprint feature at Gas City I-69 Speedway. Photo credit Gas City I-69 Speedway.

From: Ron Burt

The 2022 Knoxville Nationals did not disappoint racing fans who made their annual pilgrimage to Hawkeye State. Future National Sprint Car Hall of Famer Donny Schatz had to work every lap to claim victory over David Gravel, the 2019 event champion who finished 2nd, after Schatz passed him with 6 laps to go. TO DO. Logan Schuchart completed the podium with his drive from the 17th starting position. During the race, Kyle Larson and Carson Macedo were in contention until each had flat tires. Larson, who started in 6th, was able to come back from the back of the field and finish in 6th where he started, but Macedo was only able to come back in 17th. The other top World of Outlaw drivers finished in the top ten, Sheldon Haudenschild 8th and Brad Sweet 9th. Haudenschild started 23rd but just ran out of time to push through the traffic. It’s been five years, but add another Knoxville Nationals title to Donny Schatz’s resume. He is now an 11-time The Granddaddy of Them All champion.

Indiana’s west side racing fans claim they have the Action Track, but ask anyone who attends Gas City I-69 Speedway, and they won’t agree. The quarter-mile dirt oval has seen seven different Wingless Sprint winners this season. Last Friday night, Matt Westfall of Pleasant Hill Ohio found himself under the checkered flag. It was one of the most competitive Sprint car races of the summer on the track. Four drivers battled for the lead in the 25-lap event, but Matt Westfall was not going to be beaten. Defending track champion Scotty Weir came in 2nd, Tye Mihocko 3rd and Anton Hernandez 4th. Winder Georgia’s Michael Magic won the USAC SpeeD2 Midwest Thunder Midget event. Andy King of Convoy Ohio took the Dirt Truck Series function.

Despite threatening skies and ominous forecasts in northern Ohio, officials at Fremont Speedway decided to race on August 13. Three classes were available, the Winged 410 Sprints, the Buckeye Outlaw Non-Wing Sprint Series, and the Dirt Trucks. Bowling Green, Ohio’s Travis Philo, who has been on a great streak lately, led from start to finish in the 30-lap nonstop 410 sprint to earn his first-ever win at Fremont Speedway. In the BOSS Sprints, it was two wins, two nights in a row for Matt Westfall, a former BOSS champion. It was his second career win with Fremont in a rain-shortened 16-lap streak. The Burmeister Trophy Dirt Trucks still have a B-main and an A-main to race and track officials are studying dates for these catch-up races.

On the sidewalk at Flat Rock Speedway Saturday night, the schedule was cut short with the threat of rain in the forecast and only features were run. Current point leader Eric Lee moved up from his 4th starting spot, took the lead from Steve Hawes on lap 4 and clinched his third straight win in the 50-lap ARCA Outlaw Super Late Model feature. Dennis Strickland, Paul Pelletier, Chris Benson, Stan Yee Jr., Hawes, George Rangel and Derrick Sheppar completed the order of finish.

Oakshade and several other tracks did not run due to weather. For full coverage of high school racing and football, head to Ohio Sports Blitz on Facebook.

This weekend, the Great Lakes Super Sprint Series returns to Butler Motor Speedway with the UMP Modifieds. At Lorain Raceway Park, the Midwest Supermodifieds will have their season championship and then wrap up the year at tracks outside of Ohio. USAC’s Silver Crown Cars will make their annual trip to the Illinois State Fair Speedway for the Benttenhausen 100. All of our area tracks are scheduled to race this weekend. Keep your wheels down. Ron out!